knit(ter) fail!

Boourns.  Yesterday I broke up with my Baby Chalice Blanket.  I had no choice.  It left me with no other option.  This was tough for me to accept (although my fiance mister random would say otherwise after witnessing the project go flying across our living room…).  You see I love that blanket.  As soon as I laid eyes on it via Ravelry, I knew I had to make one.  And I did – or so I tried to.  Twice.

I’m still unsure as to whether this is a “pattern fail” or a “knitter fail”.  For some unknown reason, when I got to the row 17-20 point in the pattern my stitch count would be off – I’d have 2-3 more stitches than you are supposed to, BOTH times I attempted this project.  But a quick search on Ravelry showed that no one else had this same problem.  Everyone who knit this project ended up with beautiful baby blankets.  I was left with frustration.

At that point the yarn and needles went airborn.

Being stubborn, it is hard for me to accept my failure with this project.

Mark my words, Baby Chalice Blanket:   “I will be back.  You and I shall meet again.  And this time I’ll be ready.  You’ll see.”

And with that I proceed to search out a non-lace baby blanket.  Enter the big bad baby blanket pattern from the first Stitch ‘n Bitch book.  Easy.  Mindless.  And after peeking at similar FO’s on Ravelry, my mind was made up.  In fact, it seems this was meant to be.  You see I had wanted to use the same yarn as I was using for the Baby Chalice Blanket (Patons Decor in Sand Castle varigated), and as luck would have it someone had posted their big bad baby blanket project in that exact yarn and colorway.

Seeing it made my heart sink.

While this colorway was working well in the lace blanket, it looked most unappealing knit into a seed stitch/stockinette blanket.  Now what was I going to do?  I bought the Patons specifically for this baby blanket and intended to use it.  Until I clicked on other yarns fellow Ravellers used for it.

Hello Dream in Color Classy!

Of the twelve project listed using this yarn, 3 of them were in the ‘Dusky Aurora’ colourway –> “I’ve got that in my stash!”, I thought.  Yes!  Surely my case of “knit(ter) fail” happened for a reason.  The blanket looks stunning with the DiC yarn & colour!  I *squee*-ed with delight and quickly ran to dig the yarn out of my stash corner.

So far the third time’s been a charm.  It’s going to look fabulous!

3 thoughts on “knit(ter) fail!

  1. I’m sorry to hear that you have been having problems… I don’t know if you know it, but there has been made two revisions of the pattern. If you want the newest edition, you can download it again from Ravelry.
    Hope that helps! And good luck with another attempt ;)

Leave a Reply

